18th Asian Television Awards – winners announced

December 6, 2013 9:21 AM

114 0

The awards will be televised regionally on Star World (Dec 11), Channel [V] (Dec 23 and Jan 1, 2014), and on a local broadcast on Singapore’s MediaCorp Channel 5 (Dec 15).

Singapore, December 6, 2013 – On December 5, 450 industry members, including channel heads, on-air personalities, and production personnel gathered at Resorts World Sentosa, Singapore, to celebrate the best in Asian television. The Asian Television Awards (ATA) is Asia's most significant and celebrated event, recognising excellence in programming, production and performance. This year, the stars were in full force with a string of celebrity appearances including Jack Neo, Siti Nurhaliza, Marian Rivera, and Kris Aquino. The event saw a series of “firsts”, including an inaugural award for “Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television” presented to the CEO of STAR China Media – Ming, TIAN.

This year's ATA attracted 1,248 entries from 14 countries across Asia-Pacific. In all, 189 channels from 98 broadcasters, as well as 65 independent production companies, competed in 38 award categories under the three groups of Programming, Performance, and Technical & Creative. In addition, the event also saw 45 media companies submitting entries for the first time.

From left: Aileen Tan, Jeffrey Xu Mingjie, and Enlai, CHUA (representing MediaCorp Pte Ltd) with their acting trophies at the Asian Television Awards 2013.

A total of 43 trophies were given out at the awards ceremony, including a final “top four” ATA awards for “Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year, “Cable & Satellite Channel of the Year”, “Terrestrial Channel of the Year”, and “Cable & Satellite Network of the Year” – plus an inaugural “Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television” trophy.

CNN International won "Cable & Satellite Channel of the Year" as well as two other awards. Pictured is Sara Sidner, CNN Senior International Correspondent, who accepted the awards on behalf of CNN.

Among this year's biggest winners, FIC Asia and MediaCorp bagged two major awards for “Cable & Satellite Network of the Year” and “Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year” respectively. Other noteworthy mentions include Taiwan's Kang-Ren WU who received “Best Actor in a Leading Role” for Emerging Light; Taiwan's Jade Chou who won “Best Actress in A Leading Role for Falling; NHK who won “Best Documentary Programme (one-off/ special)” for Legends of the Deep: The Giant Squid; and Chocolate Liberation Front, who won both “Best Children's Programme” and “Best 3D Animated Programme” for preschool series The Adventures of Figaro Pho.

TV Asia Plus congratulates all the winners and nominees at this year's event.

Source: onscreenasia.com

To category page